Updating the Audit settings within a Project

When you set up a new Project, you go through the setup process where you choose which data you wish to analyze in the Audit, along with other crawl settings.

These details are displayed on the Project page.

Update Audit Settings

In order to adjust these settings, you need to start a new audit, so hit the green button ‘Start and Configure a New Audit.’

An overlay will appear, which allows you to either continue with the current settings, or select new settings.

Start with New Settings

If you choose to select new settings, you will go through to the Audit setup screen. This is the same as the screen you see when setting up a new Project, however all your previous settings will be pre-selected.

Choose New Data Settings

Adjust the settings as needed, then click ‘Start Audit’ at the bottom of the page. This will begin a new Audit, with the new settings you just selected, and this will also over-ride the Project settings for future Audits.

Note: Within a Project, as soon as you have at least 2 Audits, a ‘Compare Audits’ feature becomes available, under the section ‘Website Audit History’ (see 'Comparing Audits').

This allows you to select any two Audits and compare the data analyzed.

However, updating the settings from one Audit to the next could mean that if you compare these Audits, you won’t be comparing apples to apples. For instance, if one Audit used the JavaScript crawler, and one Audit used the non-JavaScript crawler, more content could have been found by rendering JavaScript, so the totals would be different.

Similarly, if one Audit has ‘HTML Resource Analysis’ switched on, and another Audit does not – they will definitely contain different data.

Please be aware that if you do update the settings, you may no longer be able to perform an accurate Audit comparison.